By Ian Nicolas P. Cigaral

Duterte appoints another Bedan to high court, CA Associate Justice Tijam

Posted on March 09, 2017

PRESIDENT Rodrigo R. Duterte on Wednesday appointed another San Beda Law alumnus to the Supreme Court (SC), as it welcomed Court of Appeals Associate Justice Noel G. Tijam to their bench.

The SC Public Information Office in a statement said in part: “The Chief Justice and Associate Justices of the Supreme Court welcome [Mr.] Tijam as the Court’s 176th Associate Justice and its newest member.”

Mr. Tijam replaces retired SC Justice Arturo P. Brion who reached the mandatory retirement age of 70 on Dec. 29, 2016.

When Mr. Tijam faced the Judicial Bar and Council (JBC) in his public interview last year, he maintained independence even amid the circumstance of Mr. Duterte being his law school classmate.

The new SC justice graduated Cum Laude and class salutatorian from the San Beda College of Law in 1971. He passed the Bar a year later at the age of 22.

He was appointed to the Court of Appeals in 2003. He leaves the appellate court as Chairman of the Fourth Division.

The Supreme Court is now a full 15-member court, six days before it hears, through oral arguments, a petition by detained Senator Leila M. de Lima, who sought to challenge the legality of her arrest and detention as ordered by Muntinlupa Regional Trial Court Branch 205 Executive Judge Juanita T. Guerrero.

Members of Ms. De Lima’s political party, the Liberal Party (LP), notably Senator Franklin M. Drilon and Vice-President Maria Leonor G. Robredo, had earlier called for vigilance on Mr. Duterte’s appointments to the SC.

Mr. Duterte will appoint at least 10 justice in his six-year term.

Meanwhile, Malacañang has also announced 60 newly appointed officials by Mr. Duterte in the month of February. They are as follows:

• Alberto G. Romulo, Member, Board of Directors, Development Bank of the Philippines;

• Crisologo del Pilar Ignacio, Member, Representing the Private Insurance Industry, Board of Directors, Philippine Crop Insurance Corporation;

• Antonio Rafael Garcia del Rosario, Chairperson, Regional Development Council, Region XI, National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA);

• Allan de Belen de Guzman, Member, representing Luzon, Teacher Education Council, Department of Education (DepEd);

• Abad Lachica Santos, Member, representing Luzon, Board of Administrators, Cooperative Development Authority, Office of the President;

• Jose Pamintuan de Jesus, Member, Board of Directors, Clark Development Corporation;

• Jerry Tugaff Clavesillas, Director VI, Department of Trade and Industry (DTI);

• Francisco T. Duque III, Member, Board of Trustees, Government Service Insurance System (GSIS);

• Erwin dela Cruz Sta. Ana, Deputy Treasurer of the Philippines, Bureau of the Treasury, Department of Finance (DoF);

• Erasto Aladin Castañeda, Member, representing the tobacco farmers sector, Board of Directors, National Tobacco Administration;

Elgin Robert Lamayao Damasco, Member, EDSA People Power Commission, Office of the President;

• Edgardo Baja Panlilio, Member, Board of Directors, Clark International Airport;

• Domingo Razon Tolentino Jr., Member, Board of Directors, Philippine International Trading Corporation;

• Robert Dominick Eleazar Mariano, Director III, Bureau of Treasury, DoF;

• Reynaldo Battung Mapagu, Member, Board of Directors, North Luzon Railways Corporation;

• Rex Anthony Recto-Villegas, Member, Board of Trustees, Nayong Pilipino Foundation;

• Philip Alvarez Paredes, Director IV, Department of Labor and Employment (DoLE);

• Pedro Bual Cabatingan, Jr., Member, Board of Directors, Philippine National Construction Corporation;

• Paolo Rojas Aquino, Prosecutor III (Deputy City Prosecutor), Office of the City Prosecutor -- General Santos City, National Prosecution Service, Department of Justice (DoJ);

• Noel B. Indonto, Commissioner, Presidential Commission for the Urban Poor;

• Mohamad Taha A. Guinomla, Member, Board of Directors, Philippine National Construction Corporation;

• Manuel C. Morales, Member, Board of Directors, Clark International Airport Corporation;

• Lorenzo A. Clavejo, Director V, National Security Council (NSC);

• Leonardo P. Lopez, Member, Civil Aeronautics Board, Department of Transportation (DoT);

• Leomides Ruiz Villareal, Director IV, Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR);

• Leo Edwin D. Leuterio, Director III, National Bureau of Investigation, DoJ;

• Patricia Candaza Dalmas, Member, representing the education and training institutions, Technical Education and Skills Development Authority Board;

• Norman de Guzman Abelgas, Director II, Bureau of Treasury, DoF;

• Myrna Bermudo Libutaque, Member, representing mathematics teachers, Teacher Education Council, DepEd;

• Monica Diaz Calimbas, Director IV, Office of the Appointments Secretary, Office of the President;

• Mary Marilyn de Guzman Lambino, Member, Board of Directors, John Hay Management Corporation;

• Lynn V. Seares, Director IV, Internal Audit Office, Office of the President;

• Lourdesita Sobrevega-Chan, Philippine Women’s Rights Representative to the ASEAN Commission on the Promotion and Protection of the Rights of Women and Children;

• Lourdes Roxas Baetiong, Member, Representing language teachers, Teacher Education Council, DepEd;

• Lorina Y. Calingasan, Member, representing social studies teachers, Teacher Education Council, DepEd;

• Lilia Catris Guillermo, Undersecretary, Department of Budget and Management (DBM);

• Gisela Fudolin Lood, Deputy Treasurer of the Philippines, Bureau of the Treasury, DoF;

• Evelyn G. Chavez, Member, representing Mindanao, Teacher Education Council, DepEd;

• Elouisa Tabuzo Pastor, Director IV, Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG);

• Demphna Du-Naga, Deputy Executive Director III, Philippine Fiber Industry Development Authority, Department of Agriculture (DA);

• Caron Aicitel E. Lascano, Assistant Secreatry, Department of Energy (DoE);

• Analyn V. Salvador-Amores, member, representing science teachers, Teacher Education Council, DepEd;

• William T. Yu, Member, Board of Directors, Philippine National Construction Corporation;

• Warren Rex H. Liong, Member, Board of Directors, Philippine Reclamation Authority;

• Thomas Geluz Bustos, Deputy Director General, Civil Aviation Authority of the Philippines, DoT;

• Salvador Banania Calanoy IV, Member, Board of Directors, Philippine National Construction Corporation;

• Rudolfo Alzate Bernardez IV, Member, representing Luzon Dairy Cooperatives, Dairy Industry Board, National Dairy Authority;

• Vera Joy Sadlay Ban-eg, Deputy Executive Director, Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping Office, Maritime Industry Authority, DoT;

• Tina Rose Marie L. Canda, Undersecretary, DBM;

• Sharon Pornillosa-Almanza, Treasurer of the Philippines, Bureau of the Treasury, DoF;

• Ruth Joy Guinid-Lunag, Director IV, Internal Audit Office, Office of the President;

• Rita May P. Tagalog, Member, representing Visayas, Teacher Education Council, DepEd;

• Maria Rita Oreta Matute, Executive Director III, Design Center of the Philippines, DTI and

• Rhea Baladjay Peñaflor, Commissioner, representing Visayas, National Youth Commission (NYC)

To the rank of Police Chief Superintendent:

• Alberlito Salvador Garcia

• Fausto Villegas Manzanilla, Jr.

• Noli Andrade Romana

To the rank of Police Senior Superintendent:

• Jay Reyes Cumigad

• Paul Kenneth Tuhay Lucas

• Jerry Rumbaoa Bartolome -- with K.J.V.Patag