Marawi rehabilitation: 5 barangays listed as pilot sites for agri program

Font Size


FIVE VILLAGES in Marawi City have been identified as pilot sites for an agriculture program that is part of the overall rehabilitation plan for Marawi City, according to the Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR). The five barangays are: Cabasaran, Dulay Proper, Dulay West, Guimba and Malimono. “These are our pilot areas. Other villages in Marawi will be given help as we start the process of networking and linkage for support services and relief assistance with our partners,” DAR-Caraga Regional Director Faisar A. Mambuay said in a statement. The program will be rolled out by the Convergence Project Management Team (CPMT) for Task Force Bangon Marawi (TFBM), the multi-sector group that is in charge of the overall reconstruction. CPMT, led by DAR and the Department of Agriculture, is composed of government line agencies, nongovernment organizations, the United Nations-World Food Project and United Nations-Food and Agriculture Organization.

Meanwhile, the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) announced on Monday, Nov. 4, that assessment teams have started work on the main battle zone in Marawi, referred to as “ground zero,” which bore the worst destruction from the gun battle between government forces and Islamic State followers. “Our teams are ready to work with the assessment to have it completed as soon as possible,” DPWH Secretary Mark A. Villar said in a statement. The military has given clearance to proceed with the post conflict needs assessment activities at the remaining 10 cluster areas comprising 47 barangays within ground zero. The assessments will serve as basis for TFBM’s reconstruction plan, which is being developed and will be implemented in coordination with the local governments of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao, Lanao del Sur province, and Marawi City. — Mindanao Bureau